Is weed legal in Maine?

Yes. Both medical and adult-use, or recreational, cannabis is legal in Maine for adults 21 and older.

Legislation history

On Nov. 2, 1999, Maine Medical Marijuana for Specific Illnesses, or Ballot Question 2, passed with 61% of the votes. It legalized medical cannabis for patients suffering from serious health conditions.

In 2009 voters passed the Maine Medical Marijuana Act, which expanded the state’s existing program and decriminalized possession of up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of cannabis. It officially established the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program (MMMP) and created a system of nonprofit dispensaries and cultivators.

On Nov. 8, 2016, Maine voters passed An Act to Legalize Marijuana, allowing adults 21 and older to possess, consume, and cultivate marijuana for personal use. Since voters approved the original legislation in November 2016, the legislature made a number of changes and compromises and had to overcome vetoes to pass an amended law, LD 1719. Among the changes was reducing the number of marijuana plants a recreational consumer can grow at home from six to three. The Legislature also postponed consideration of cannabis social clubs until 2023, leaving private property as the only place where recreational cannabis can be consumed.

The revised law established rules for sales of recreational weed and gave Mainers priority for commercial licenses. The provision giving priority to in-state businesses was struck down in 2020 after an out-of-state business brought a lawsuit. That was just one of the wrinkles that kept the state from awarding any recreational retail licenses until September 2020.

Where is it safe to purchase weed in Maine?

Medical marijuana cardholders and recreational customers can find licensed dispensaries in Maine and search by major metro areas including Augusta, Bangor, and Portland. Many dispensaries in Maine offer delivery and curbside pickup services in addition to storefront sales.

Where is it safe to consume weed in Maine?

Cannabis consumption must take place in a private space such as one’s home or other private property. Consuming cannabis or cannabis-infused products in public is subject to a $100 fine. Use of marijuana in a parked car or in public view is also prohibited. Driving a motor vehicle under the influence of cannabis is illegal.

Possessing cannabis

Qualified patients and caregivers can possess:

  • Up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of prepared marijuana
  • Six mature plants
  • 12 immature female plants
  • Unlimited seedlings
  • Up to 8 pounds (3.6 kilograms) of dried marijuana

Recreational consumers are allowed to use, transport, possess, or give away:

  • 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of marijuana and up to 5 grams of concentrate
  • Three mature plants
  • 12 immature plants
  • Unlimited seedlings

They can give away up to six immature plants. Any marijuana gifts must be to adults over 21 years of age and completely free of charge.

Medical marijuana registry

To participate in the MMMP, qualifying patients must obtain authorization from their doctor, doctor of osteopathy, or nurse practitioner. The authorization certificate and state-issued ID are the only things a patient needs to purchase marijuana from a Maine dispensary. Patients can register and obtain a registry card, if they choose. There’s no charge for the cards.

There is no list of qualifying conditions for medical marijuana applicants. A medical practitioner can recommend marijuana for any medical condition they believe may be alleviated by marijuana.

Application process

  1. Obtain a written certification from a certified physician
  2. Submit a completed application to the MMMP
  3. Designate one or two primary caregivers, if necessary
  4. Indicate whether patients will cultivate cannabis for their personal use or designated a caregiver for cultivation


Under Maine marijuana laws, qualifying patients may designate one person, hospice provider, or nursing facility to assist them with the medical use of marijuana. Caregivers who aren’t family members of the patient must register with the state and receive an ID card before they can possess or cultivate marijuana. Under certain circumstances, a patient may also designate a second primary caregiver. A caregiver must be at least 21 years old and may not have been convicted of a drug offense. They may serve up to five patients.

Caregivers who register with the MMMP must have a local authorization form signed by their municipal government in order to receive a registry identification card.

Caregivers who want to cultivate marijuana for a patient must pay $240 annually per patient plus an additional $31 to cover background checks.


The MMMP offers reciprocity to out-of-state patients provided they have a valid medical marijuana certification from their home jurisdiction and a valid driver’s license or state ID from their home state.

Lab testing

Maine requires that all marijuana and marijuana products be tested for:

  • Cannabinoids
  • Fungicides
  • Harmful chemicals
  • Herbicides
  • Poisons
  • Microbes
  • Mildew
  • Mold
  • Pesticides
  • Residual solvents

Frequently Asked Questions

In November 2016, Maine voters legalized marijuana, allowing adults 21 and older to possess, consume, and cultivate it for personal use.
Wake and bake or smoke all night. Cannabis consumption is legal any time — so long as it takes place in private.
Patients and adults 21 and older can legally possess 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of marijuana and up to 5 grams of concentrate.
Patients and caregivers can possess and grow marijuana for medicinal use. The state’s Department of Administrative and Financial Policy runs the Office of Marijuana Policy, which has all the details.
Maine voters legalized the sale of recreational marijuana to adults 21 and older in 2016. Since then the state has been working to set up a retail sales framework. It issued the first related licenses in September of 2020 and stores are open now.

Ready to start advertising

Choose your objective and find the campaign that’s right for your goals.